First Impression: BeautyBox 5 March 2013

If things look a little weird it is because my computer is broken. 😦 When I went to use it this morning the computer said it needed to restart and then nothing happened. Wish I was a little more computer literate. Until I figure out what’s wrong I’ll be using my iPad, not ideal but I guess better than nothing.

This is my first month with Beautybox 5 (note this is my referral link if you want to help me out 😉 ) This is a service similar to Ipsy and Birchbox, for $12 a month or $100 yearly, you get a box of 5 different samples to try out. So let me show what I got and what I thought.

The first thing in the box is the La Fresh nail polish remover wipes. These work great for the first hand but by the time I got the second hand the wipe was dried out. So I either had to open the other pouch or use another nail polish remover. I went with my Zoya nail polish remover but I have to say that the hand that I used the La Fresh wipes on my nail felt less dry. Saying that, I wouldn’t buy these, at $3.99 for 6 wipes and 1 wipe only works on 1 hand that would get pretty expensive.

20130325-182456.jpg

The next item in the box is the Brazen Cosmetics eyeshadow in Type A. This is probably my favorite thing in the box. This is a pretty reddish brown mineral eyeshadow that blends easily and makes a great crease color. This retails for $7.49 for .18 oz.

20130325-183158.jpg

20130325-183224.jpg

20130325-183259.jpg

In the eye look above I used the bareMinerals READY 8.0 palette The September Issue. I used the color statement, from the palette, on my lid and then used the Brazen cosmetic eyeshadow Type A in the crease.

The next item is the Tree Hut moisturizing lotion in the scent Tropical Mango. This is an okay moisturizer. It absorbs very quickly. I put this on and then immediately put on my clothes. The scent is okay, if you like mango scented things this would be up your alley. This retails for $6.49 for 9 oz.

20130325-184021.jpg

The next thing in the box is the H2O Plus Spa Sea Salt body wash. This was okay, nothing special. I prefer my Bath and Bodyworks and Philosophy body wash to this one. The smell is okay, kind of like minty lemons or generic hotel shower gel. Not a bad product just one that doesn’t thrill me enough to buy it. This retails for $17 for 12.5 oz.

20130325-184552.jpg

The last item in the box is another H2O Plus item. This is the Eye Lift Concentrate. The card says that this product is “bottled sleep” and lifts, firms, lightens, and repairs. I’ve only used it a few times but I haven’t noticed any of those things. It could be that this is a product that needs to be used for awhile before you can notice a difference but in the week I’ve been using it I haven’t notice one. This product retails for $38 for .5 oz.

20130325-210716.jpg

Well, that is what is in my first beautybox 5 box. Not overly impressed but we’ll see what the coming months bring.

3 thoughts on “First Impression: BeautyBox 5 March 2013

  1. Pingback: First Impression: beautybox 5 June 2013 | Avonleabelle Beauty

Leave a Reply

