Nail of the Day: Aqua Sparkle

I got Denver in a recent Julep Maven Secret Store. If you are wondering what the Secret Store is, it is special discounted stuff for people that got that month’s Julep Maven box.

I thought Denver was such a great Spring color that I had to wear it. I also had to have an accent nail with my new favorite glitter polish, Paris. Denver wasn’t that great of a polish, which was super disappointing. This took 3 coats to fully cover the nail and it got gloppier with each coat, which means the application got messier and messier. I was painting my cousin’s nails at the same time so I don’t know if that had anything to do with that, but this could use a dose of polish thinner.

So here’s the nail look. Sorry for the bad picture and the fact my cuticles are so messy. My polish chipped before I get a better picture. I’m super hard on my nails at work so this is not necessarily the polish’s fault as every polish brand I use does this.

20130506-230253.jpg

And because one bad picture is not enough, here is a horrible swatch picture of Denver. I thought the picture was in focused when I took it but that tooth brush in the background must have been way more interesting to my camera.

20130506-230724.jpg

Hopefully the next Nail of the Day post will have better pictures but I hope you like it nonetheless.

2 thoughts on “Nail of the Day: Aqua Sparkle

  1. Well, I liked it! I was wondering whether it was worth taking advantage of their $7 sale on it, and I see it’s not.

    What I don’t understand about Julep is how come their pictures and descriptions always make the polishes seems lighter than they are. I got a pink in the classic with a twist box in April that they seemed to think was pastel, and which came out as a hot coral. This one, they clearly think is a mint, and it’s obviously just as bold as that pink. Maybe it’s a hot mint? Is that a thing?

    • It is a bright mint but I like that, though is no nail that could be too bright or too sparkly for me. đŸ˜‰ If you are looking for a mint that isn’t so bright Julep Dianne is a muted mint. Of course it is not on sale right now. Glad you liked the look and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

