First Impressions: Beautybar.com Sample Society May 2013

20130517-214338.jpg

This is my second Sample Society box and again I was disappointed. Except for one thing I didn’t like any of the products.

So here’s what I got in this box.

20130517-214757.jpg

The first product is the Jane Iredale Forever Pink Just Kissed Lip & Cheek stain. This is a self-adjusting product that gives you the product color. It goes on clear and darkens to a berry pink in about 5 minutes. It has a nice fruit punch scent and goes on smoothly. It is a little too glossy, in my opinion,to be used as a cheek stain but is perfect for the lips. Might just be me but I don’t need or want glossy cheeks. I tried this first on my hands and this does stain so it would be a good cheek stain.

Full size is $25.

20130517-220352.jpg

20130517-220404.jpg

The next product is the Yu-Be Moisturizing Skin Cream. I have gotten this sample many times before and you probably have too if you ordered from any website that sells beauty products. This has a very strong medicinal scent. It does fade after awhile but I don’t think this is that great of a lotion to put up with scent. A plus is that it does absorb quickly and don’t have greasy hands after using it.

Full size is $16 for 1.25 oz or $25 for 2.5 oz.

20130517-221117.jpg

The next product is the Dr. Brandt Flexitone BB Cream with an SPF of 30. This product hydrates, evens tone and is a sunscreen. I had many problems with this product. The first problem is that this is way too dark for my fair skin. There is only one shade but it supposed to self adjust to match your skin tone. C’mon Dr. Brandt people do you honestly believe that a shade that dark would lighten itself for anyone lighter than medium skin tone? Okay sorry I stepping off my soap box now. 😀 I do have to say that if I faux tanned this would be a great product to use to have a tan face. This blended out to a really pretty tan color on my hand. The second problem I have with this is that it has that strong sunscreen scent. Unfortunately, sunscreen smell gives me a headache and makes me nauseous. So even if it was in a shade that matched my skin tone I still couldn’t use it because of the scent.

Full size is $39 for 1 oz.

20130517-223228.jpg

The next product is the Alterna Bamboo Shine Luminous Shine Mist. This is a product that is supposed to give your hair a glossy finish. Curly hair isn’t shiny because of the curls so I probably wasn’t a good person to try this out. I didn’t think my hair looked any different after using it. Also this has a strong hair spray smell and I found it slightly suffocating. This definitely going in my give away box.

Full size is $24 for 4 oz.

20130517-225344.jpg

The last product is the Kate Somerville Somerville360 Tanning Towelettes. I have to confess that faux tanning frightens me. It seems like too many things could go wrong and then you’re stuck looking orange or streaky until it fades. So I haven’t tried this out yet. I guess the one wipe is good for the whole body but I don’t know. Maybe one day I will brave up and try it out on my legs. I am usually in pants so if it goes horribly wrong at least they will be hidden.

Full size is $48 for 8 towelettes.

20130517-230516.jpg

So after 2 months of being underwhelmed with the samples I canceled my subscription. I just think for $5 cheaper, Birchbox has better samples and a much better reward system. Maybe one day I’ll return but for now we need to part ways. It’s not you, it’s me.

6 thoughts on “First Impressions: Beautybar.com Sample Society May 2013

  1. jane iredele was nice enuff to send me a sample of the just kissed lip stain. I really like it as a lip color it is a lil okay a lot glossy to go on my cheeks

Leave a Reply

