First Impression: Ipsy May 2013 bag

20130519-103256.jpg

Time for another Ipsy bag review. Ipsy did things a little differently this month. Instead of everyone getting the same bag with only color variations, they had a bunch of different variations and items this month. Every bag got a Zoya polish from the recent Spring collection, Yaby concealer, and a Mirabella lipstick or Juice Beauty lipgloss. The other 2 items where surprises from about 8 different products.

If you are interested in Ipsy and want to help me out by using my referral link, click here.

I’m not too impressed with my bag. The concealer is way too dark for me, I have sensitivity to most perfume and the hair serum is not the type of product I like for my hair.

So enough with my complaining and let me show what I got in my bag.

First off I think this chevron bag is really cute. I’m really liking all the printed bag Ipsy has been sending out. And this bag matches my sunglasses case I got from the dollar store and now I can having matching bags in my purse.

20130519-104712.jpg

The first item in the bag is the Zoya polish in Blu from the Lovely Spring 2013 collection. I really like Zoya and most of my polish collection is Zoya. And if you are looking for a good white nail polish, Zoya Purity is amazing!

Blu is whitish blue cream polish. It applied kinda streaky on the swatch card. I don’t know if I didn’t wait long enough before applying the second coat but the other polishes I was swatching at the same time didn’t give me the same problem. I think this pretty but I really wanted the yellow or the green polish from this collection.

Cost: $8

20130519-105440.jpg

The next item is the Yaby concealer in Honey. This way too dark for my fair skin. I tried this as an under eye concealer and it was really dark and yellow. It worked okay but since I have such bad under eye circles I like something that brightens that area, not just conceal it. It applied smoothly and didn’t settle into lines, so that’s a plus. If Yaby’s website wasn’t such a mess I would be willing to try the concealer in another shade.

Cost: $4.85

20130519-105912.jpg

The next item is the Mirabella lip sheer lipstick in Daydream. It has mango butter to moisturize your lips and helps it apply smoothly. Daydream is a pretty mauve shade leans on the purple side. Since I have been obsessed with purple lipsticks I was happy to add this to my collection. This is a sheer lipstick that works for the day and would be a good layering lipstick. I really like this product. It is sheer like a lipgloss but has the moisturizing and smooth application of a lipstick. This kinda reminds me of my favorite lip product, Maybelline Baby lips or the Revlon lip butters.

Cost: $22

20130519-110200.jpg

The next item is the Pacifica Island Vanilla perfume roll-on. Pacifica’s website says, “inspired by the unique magic of Tahitian vanilla, this sensual blend sets sweet and sultry vanilla absolute, with honey-jasmine notes and a touch of fruitiness, against a deep and beautiful base of tea.” If you read my blog before you will know that I was really disappointed to see this was in my bag. Thankfully I didn’t get a headache from this and was able to wear this the whole day. It was good that it didn’t make me sick since this is long lasting and I was still smelling it on my wrists hours later. It is a nice smell, reminds me of vanilla extract. While I like the scent I think this would work better as a fall/winter perfume instead of a spring/summer perfume.

On a side note, I love Pacifica’s packaging. I think it is so pretty!

Cost: $12

20130519-201136.jpg

The last item in my bag is the NuMe Finishing Serum. This a thick syrupy serum that reminds me of the John Freida serum. This is not a hair product I like for my hair. I think it’s too heavy and if you add too much your hair is greasy. This did nothing for my hair. While it was really humid on the day I tried it and most products don’t work in this weather, my hair was not only frizzy but some parts were not curled at all! That was really weird since I have Shirley Temple type curls and the only way I have straight hair if if I physically straighten it. This will be put in the give away box.

Full Size price is $29 for 2 oz.

20130522-000503.jpg

So that was my box. I’m glad I got the lipstick because everything else I was indifferent about.

Leave a Reply

