First Impressions: Birchbox May 2013

20130525-160503.jpg

20130525-160742.jpg

The theme for this month’s box is Beauty Diaries. Personally, I think they made the theme generic so they can give out things that have been sampled before. Three of the things that were in my box, I’ve seen before in other people’s unboxing videos and posts. Saying that, I really liked this box. Two of the samples that I got I’ve really wanted to try and thought about buying just to get them. Also I think the info card this month was cute. Love the Mad Lib diary format. So enough chit chat and let’s get into the box.

As always if you are interested in the box and want to help me out, click here.

The first thing in the box was the Beauty Protector Protect & Detangle spray. This is supposed to lock in color, add shine, and detangle. I can’t speak about the first two things but it does detangle. This spray made it so much easier to comb through my curly hair that likes to knot up. This also smells really good, kinda sweet, and the scent lasts a long time. Not sure if I would buy the full size but I will definitely use up this sample.

Full size, $21.95

20130525-161915.jpg

The next item is the Isaac Mizrahi FABULOUS Isaac Mizrahi Eau de Parfum. Sigh. Another perfume sample. This perfume has a blend of mandarin, jasmine, and vanilla. I didn’t smell the mandarin at all but I do get the jasmine and vanilla as I think it smells like a sweet floral scent. I didn’t get the initial perfume headache so I thought this might be something I could wear. But no. After about an hour of wearing I found the scent overwhelming and I got my headache. And lucky me this is pretty long lasting perfume. So in the give away bag it goes.

Full size, $20-69

20130525-162531.jpg

The next item is the Supergoop! Daily Correct SPF 35 CC Cream. This evens out your skin tone and protects against UVA, UVB, and infrared-A rays. I don’t know what infrared-A rays are so I guess it’s a good thing this protects against them. This only comes in two shades, light/medium and medium/dark so I thought this probably wouldn’t work for me but this blends out perfectly. While this does even out my skin tone I still needed to wear a foundation with this. My favorite thing about this product is that there is no sunscreen smell!!! Yay! I liked it so much that I already purchased the full size. I think this would be great for days I don’t want to wear a full face of makeup and also for traveling. The only thing I don’t like about this is I wish it was cheaper.

Full size, $32

20130525-163532.jpg

The next product is Whish Shave Crave shaving cream. This is a foam-free shaving cream that contains organic shea butter to keep your legs moisturized. I really wanted to try this product, probably because of the blueberry scent, so I was thrilled to get this in my box. I’m glad I resisted buying the full size because I think this is only so-so. I like a thick shave cream so I can see where I have already shaved. This is a thin cream, probably because it is foam-free, so it was hard to tell what I have already shaved and didn’t. I have sensitive skin and shaving is super irritating to my legs in case you were wondering why I have to be careful not to reshave in the same place. I did like the scent and it does a decent job of moisturizing but I feel I could get the same effect with using a hair conditioner for a lot less money. I’ll use up the sample but most likely won’t purchase the full size.

Full size, $20

20130525-164805.jpg

The last two products in my box, yep I got six products this month!, are both from Amika. The first is the Obliphica Nourishing Mask and the second is the Obliphica Hair Treatment. The nourishing mask works the same as the Macadamia Natural Oil Deep Repair Masque, which is an extra rich conditioner that helps to repair damaged and dry hair. The Hair treatment is fragrant hair oil. I’m sorry to say that I haven’t tried these out yet. I keep forgetting to take them out the box and I think the foil package of hair just seems like it would be really messy.

Obliphica Nourishing Mask: Full size, $12-40
Obliphica Hair Treatment: Full size, $34

20130525-170533.jpg

20130525-170600.jpg

So I think this is probably my best Birchbox to date. I got things I wanted to try and found a new favorite. Can’t beat that. So if you want to see how I filled out my beauty diary, here is what I put.

20130525-170849.jpg

4 thoughts on “First Impressions: Birchbox May 2013

  1. I also got the Beauty Protector Protect & Detangle spray. It’s funny because while you notice the detangle properties, I primarily noticed the shin and softness. I was really impressed with the product.

    May was my very first month getting a Birchbox and writing about it. I think I’m hooked for life!
    http://wp.me/3z4Hk

    • My top three faves are Ipsy, Birchbox, and Julep. If you just want makeup go with Ipsy. If you want a mix of skin care and makeup go with Birchbox. And if you are obsessed with nail polish go with Julep. Hope that helped. Let me know if you have any further questions.

Leave a Reply

