First Impressions: Starlooks Starbox May 2013

20130602-153616.jpg

Hi all! So I got my May Starlooks Starbox and I had much better results with this box than last month. No allergic reactions to anything! So let’s see what I got.

The whole box of goodies. I love the fact that there is makeup to play with.

20130602-154715.jpg

The first thing in the box is the Eyeshadow Shader Compact. This slim compact gives you four shades to fill in your eyebrows. These will also work as regular eyeshadows but these are not that pigmented so no bold eye looks with this. I didn’t find this was very effective to fill in my brows. I had to use the darker brown and I still didn’t notice any difference. I liked this better as regular eyeshadows. The cream shade is a great brow highlight color and the black makes a decent eyeliner.

Cost: $21

20130602-155305.jpg

The next item is a pigment luster in Cinnamon Toss. This a powder eyeshadow that is a antique gold color. First off I think the packaging for the shadow sucks. It is hard to get the eyeshadow out of the bottle without creating a mess. I have gotten this pigment all over the place. The product card says to put this on the back of your hand to get to the product. Umm, no thanks on that. It also goes on very patchy and doesn’t blend out very well. It worked much better to pat the color on. Beside all of these negatives this makes my green eyes look amazing! I might put this in another container and see if that helps with the application.

Cost: $17

20130602-155913.jpg

20130602-160406.jpg

The last item is a cream blush in Emphasize. This a cream blush in a brick red color. This applied really nicely and is buildable. As nice as this is I wish I liked the color more. I just think this color looks dirty and muddy on me. Not a look I typically go for. Strangely, this blush looks great in all the pictures I took of my self. I also used this as a lip stain, which turned out nice.

Cost:$17

20130602-161400.jpg

Here is me wearing the items from this box. I have Cinnamon Toss on the lid, the light brown color in the crease to soften the Cinnamon Toss, and I put eye drops in the black shadow to make a liquid liner. I used Emphasis on my cheeks.

20130602-162923.jpg

A close up of the eye look

20130602-163334.jpg

Starlooks also gave a cute little nail file as a bonus. This is perfect for my purse. In case you are wondering I’m wearing China Glaze polish in Not in This Galaxy.

20130602-161604.jpg

So that’s my box for this month. I’m not sure that I really like subscription or this brand. For now I’m going to keep getting it but I don’t think for too much longer.

4 thoughts on “First Impressions: Starlooks Starbox May 2013

  1. It might interest you to look into some of the latest Starlooks controversy especially if you’re on the fence about keeping your sub http://polishjinx.blogspot.ca/2013/05/starlooks-customer-service-leaves-bad.html#comment-form just a thought, I haven’t subbed to this box but I can’t understand that container for the eyeshadow, looks impossible to use and nobody wants to have shadow all over their hands, yeah. But it does look really pretty with your eyes! nice look!

Leave a Reply

