Save or Splurge: hair tie edition

After receiving the Good Ouchless ribbon elastics in my Influenster VoxBox I thought it might be interesting to do a comparison between these and the more expensive Twistband hair ties.

So welcome to the category Save or Splurge. Yes, I got the idea from Glamour magazine.

The contenders:

Twistband hair ties

20130714-165736.jpg

Vs.

Goody Ouchless Ribbon Elastics

20130714-165825.jpg

Cost:

First up is Twistband hair ties. These retail, according to their website theTwistband, for $6 for 3. Making them $2 a hair tie.

Goody Ouchless Ribbon Elastics retail for $3.99, I saw them $3.97 on Walmart’s website, for 5 hair ties which makes them about $0.80 a hair.

Winner: Goody Ouchless Ribbon Elastics. Definitely cheaper and more than half the price of the Twistband.

Variety:

Twistband has hair ties in just about any color and pattern you could want. Seriously, their website can be dangerous. They even have a subscription box available.

Goody Ouchless Ribbon Elastics has only this 5 pack so far. At least this all that I could find. Target.com had a four pack but it was geared towards kids so I don’t know if it is the same product as this.

Winner: Twistband.

How Does It Work:

Before I get to the comparison I should say that I wear my hair in a pony tail or a bun almost everyday and that is what I use my hair ties for.

Twistband is really stretchy and is probably the reason people with thick hair don’t think these work. They also stretched out pretty quickly. Not as quickly or as drastically as a regular pony tail holder, but it does happen.

Goody Ouchless Ribbon Elastics are not as stretchy and feel more firm. Also I wore the same hair ties everyday for a week and looks almost the same as the ones I haven’t used.

20130714-172004.jpg

Winner: Goody Ouchless Ribbon Elastics. Since it is not as stretchy it seems to hold my hair better than the Twistband hair ties.

Overall Winner Goody Ouchless Ribbon Elastics! It would probably win for the price alone but the fact that these work better make them the winner, hands down!

Here is a silly video I made on Vine.

Have you tried the Goody Ouchless Ribbon Elastics? If you have, what do you think?

Note: I received the Goody Ouchless Ribbon Elastics for free from Influenster in exchange for an honest review. While I did get these free, my opinion is truly honest and unbiased.

2 thoughts on “Save or Splurge: hair tie edition

Leave a Reply

