First Impressions: Ipsy bag September 2013

20130922-125606.jpg

Hi, reader! Before I get into the review I just have to say that I’m not liking the update to the WordPress iPad app. I wrote the whole review and when I went to upload it the entire post I wrote disappeared! Sigh! So now I have to write the whole thing all over again.

To continue with the whining tread I wasn’t that happy with my Ipsy bag this month. Nothing impressed me and except for one item I don’t see me using anything I got.

First up here is the bag. While I like the blue color I don’t like the pattern at all. It looks like a makeup bag you would pick up from the dollar store. Saying that I watched a few YouTube unboxing videos and they thought this bag was cute so maybe I’m just picky.

20130922-130700.jpg

The first item is the It’s So B!G volumizing mascara by Elizabeth Mott. My first impression was this mascara was misnamed as it was NOT volumizing. The only thing this mascara did was make my lashes black.

20130922-130851.jpg

The next item is the Starlooks Kohl eye pencil in Obsidian. Honestly! I cancelled my subscription to the Starlooks Starbox for a reason. I know I say this all the time but I hate pencil liners. While this one is okay in the application the pigmentation was not great. Comes off as more dark grey than black.

20130922-131212.jpg

The next item is the Victoria Jackson Taupe eyebrow pencil. I got an eyebrow pencil last month from Ipsy and while this one is better in terms of color match this is not something I would use. I have thick brows so I don’t need a pencil to fill in my brows. I also wish the point was a little thinner. My mom will be getting this.

20130922-131629.jpg

The next item is the Cailyn tinted lip balm in Big Apple. Another item that is misnamed. This acts and feels more like a lipstick. For a lip balm this not moisturizing at all. Also the color when applied is a little matte. I do like it as a lip color and will use it. I do dislike this packaging though. I like that the lip brush is built in but I think the packaging is bulky and doesn’t make it easy to throw in your purse.

20130922-131951.jpg

20130922-132058.jpg

The last item in the bag is the NYX eyeshadow in Velvet Suede. In the pot this is a silvery blue with purple and blue sparkle. Applied it only looks silver and the pigmentation is not that great. I was able to make the blue show up when I used a white eyeshadow base.

20130922-132540.jpg

Here is a picture using everything in my bag. I also used my Urban Decay Naked 1 palette for the eyeshadow Gunmetal as the crease color.

20130922-132705.jpg

20130922-132714.jpg

20130922-132722.jpg

Here is an eye look using the NYX Velvet Suede eyeshadow over the NYX jumbo eyeshadow pencil in Milk. I also used the purple shadows I used in the Purple Autumn eye look.

20130922-132910.jpg

20130922-132921.jpg

So that’s my bag. If you got a September Ipsy bag hopefully you like your bag more than I liked mine.

20130922-133021.jpg

8 thoughts on “First Impressions: Ipsy bag September 2013

  1. Did u get a free polish code from Julep for 3 months sub? I got mine today they sent me an emai for not skipping 3 months in a row.

Leave a Reply

