First Impressions: Birchbox October 2013

20131117-173301.jpg

Yay! Finally doing the last review of my October boxes. I got in all my November boxes this week so I knew I had to get my act together. So here is my box.

The first item is the Avène Cleanance Gel Soapless Cleanser for oily/acne prone skin. I don’t know how they claim to be soapless as this foams up, which is usually because of detergent in the product. Also I do not have oily or acne prone skin so I found this soap a little drying. It does smell nice and fresh and it did a good job taking care of any makeup left on my face after using a makeup wipe.

Full size: $20

20131117-174711.jpg

The next item is Curly Solutions Curl Keeper. This is a water based hair serum to help curls stay frizz free. When I first used it I didn’t think it was going to work because this felt like I was pouring water into my hand. I am happy to admit I was wrong as my curls looked great every time I use this. My curls are defined and as frizz free as they could be living in the Deep South. I have gotten a bunch of compliments on my hair. I wish I didn’t just buy a big bottle Quidad Climate Control® Heat & Humidity Gel because I would definitely buy a bottle of this.

Full size: $10

20131117-175504.jpg

The next item is DDF Wrinkle Resist Plus Pore Minimizer Moisturizer Serum. This serum is designed to minimize pores and soften fine lines. I didn’t notice any difference when I used this and like most serums and wrinkle creams I think I need to use for an extended period before anything happens.

Full size: $85

20131117-180152.jpg

The next item is theBalm cosmetics Stainiac in Beauty Queen. This is a lip and cheek stain similar to Benefit’s Benetint. I’m not a fan of either product. I find they dry too quickly to spread and then I have streaks where I first put the product.

Full size: $17

20131117-182059.jpg

The last item is a Birchbox Find, which is Chapstick Hydration Lock in Vanilla Créme. This is nice and reminds me of the medicated Chapstick. When I first started using it I thought it was a little too waxy for me but now it is the perfect balance you would want in a lip balm, not too waxy and not too greasy.

20131117-182942.jpg

Not the best box but it was saved by the awesome Curl Keeper serum.

One thought on “First Impressions: Birchbox October 2013

Leave a comment